Letter from the Secretary-General

Dear Delegates, Faculty Advisors, and members of the IIST MUN community,

Welcome to IIST Model United Nations 2018!

I am truly honored to serve as your Secretary-General for the Eighth Session of IIST MUN. We hope that you will join us for the conference, which will be held on Saturday April, 7 and Sunday April, 8 in Indian Institute Of Space Science and Technology, Trivandrum.

IIST MUN constantly strives to embody the educational and diplomatic spirit that inspired the creation of Model United Nations several decades ago. Our commitments to substantive excellence, diplomacy, and service to our delegates are all in the name of fostering greater global cooperation. Despite that we simulate real-world decision-making bodies, we strive to model the ideals of multilateralism and diplomacy.

Our Staff of IIST undergraduates will be working tirelessly through March-end and April 2018 to ensure that your delegate experience at IIST MUN 2018 is incredible, both substantively and socially. Please browse through our website to see all of the committees and opportunities that will be offered at IIST MUN 2018, and if you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us. On behalf of the entire staff of the conference, I look forward to welcoming you in person at the 8th Session of Indian Institute Of Space Science and Technology Model United Nations!

Varshith Reddy
IIST Model United Nations 2018


Founded in 2011, only 3 years after the college was established IIST MUN is one of the most prestigious conference of its kind in South India. Staffed entirely by IIST undergraduates, IIST MUN gathers participants from various parts of India, especially South India, to simulate the activities of the United Nations. IIST MUN offers a unique opportunity to experience the challenges of international negotiation and diplomacy.

This year, the conference will take this tradition to a new level with numerous innovations designed to enhance the delegate experience. This session will be held in IIST, Trivandrum on April 7th and 8th, 2018 . Throughout the conference, delegates will gain insight into the workings of the United Nations by actively participating in the resolution of important global issues. Participants will not only work with many other motivated college students with the common goals of furthering international awareness and building consensus, but will also work within a lively social setting.

The Secretariat cordially invites you to join us for the 8th session of Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology Model United Nations.


Varshith Reddy


Prajwal Patnaik


Swetha Krishnan

Director of Delegate Affairs



The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the six principal organs of the United Nations, charged with the maintenance of international peace and security as well as accepting new members to the United Nations and approving any changes to its United Nations Charter.


The United Nations Committee on the Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (COPUOS) was established in 1959. The mission of COPUOS is "to review the scope of international cooperation in peaceful uses of outer space, to devise programmes in this field to be undertaken under United Nations auspices, to encourage continued research and the dissemination of information on outer space matters, and to study legal problems arising from the exploration of outer space."


As members of the IP corps, you will be a part of a simulation unlike any other at IIST MUN. Instead of representing the interests of a single country, the International Press Delegation allows participants to act as unbiased journalists, reporting on the proceedings of each simulation in the Conference. You will investigate committee debates, conduct interviews, edit articles, and cover press conferences.

Everyone has the right to freedom of opinion and expression; this right includes freedom to hold opinions without interference and to seek, receive and impart information and ideas through any media and regardless of frontiers.


Varshith Reddy



Prajwal Patnaik



Swetha Krishnan